Eurasian Patent Office

The Eurasian Patent Office, formed in 1991 after the disintegration of the USSR, covers the countries below:

Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Republic of Tajikistan, Ukraine.

Eurasian patents can be granted on the basis of an international application filed in accordance with the PCT.  The Eurasian Office acts as a receiving office, designated office and elected office under the PCT and may apply for the status of an International Searching and Preliminary Examining Authority under the PCT.  All of the member states are automatically covered in a Eurasian patent application. After the patent has been granted there is no need to file translations or take any local action. Annual renewal fees are payable direct to the Eurasian Patent Office in respect of each of the designated countries.